Church Ministries
The Deacon Board

Deacons serve by showing mercy to the church and to all people. 
They received this task in the early church when the apostles designated special persons for the work of mercy (Acts 6; 2 Cor.8-9). In Christ's name the deacons relieve victims of injustice. By this they show that Christians live by the Spirit of the kingdom, fervently desiring to give life the shape of things to come. Deacons are therefore called to assesseds, promote stewardship and hospitality, collect and disburse resources for benevolence, and develop programs of assistance. They are also called to speak words of Christian encouragement. Thus in word as well as deed they demonstrate the care of the Lord himself.

“This is a true saying, If a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work.”  1 Timothy 3:1

Through their guidance, our church Deacon Board services the Lord and the congregation diligently:

Deacon Arthur Griffith             Deacon Fred Harris     
Deacon Claude Hosey            Deacon Billy Williams    
Deacon George Wood            Deacon Jimmy Dyar
Deacon James Whatley

Evangelist Griffith
Evangelist Griffith
Evangelist Rowland
Evangelist Rowland

“And God hath set some in the church, first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments, diversities of tongues”.  1 Corinthians 12:28


The Mothers' Board
The Mothers' Board
The Mother’s Board

The charge of the Mothers is to support the Deacons and to mentor to the young women of the church.  As deacons wives, “And let there also first be proved; then let them use the office of a deacon, being found blameless”. “Even so must their wives be grave, not slanderers, sober, faithful in all things.” 1Timothy 3:10-11
Sis. Eula Watson   -   Vice President
Sis. Ruby Griffith -    Secretary
Sis. Bessie Adrine -   Treasurer
Sis. Willie Mae Watson              Sis Patricia Faine
Sis. Gloria Darden                     Sis Patsy Howard

Missionary Society
Missionary Society

Blessed is the consecrated leader, dedicated to Christian service because her strength is in the Lord



Present Missionary Society


Sis. Eula M. Watson, President

Sis. Ruby Griffith, Vice President

Sis. Gail Sherfield, Secretary

Sis. Derenda Reynolds, Treasurer

Sis. Bessie Adrine

Sis. Gloria Darden

Sis. Regina Hosey

Sis. Pasty Howard

Sis. Beverly McDuffie

Sis. Matter Miller

Sis. Ruby Rowland

Sis. Frankie Poteete


Ushers's Ministry
Ushers's Ministry
The Ushers’ Ministry
The Zion Hill First Baptist Church Ushers' Ministry began in 1930 under the leadership of Rev. C.H. Young.  In 1982, the Senior and Junior Ushers' Ministries were combined.  The purpose of the Usher is that of doorkeeper and special assistant to the Pastor. The Usher, like the Greeter, sets the mood of the people as they enter the house of the Lord. They are courteous and kind, yet stern. They give a smile and a warm welcome to brighten each ones day. They also assist the pastor in keeping good order and discipline in the house of God during service. They are watchful for those walking, talking, and being disorderly during service. This is a vital ministry to the people of God.  "For A day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness." Psalm 84:10
Sis. Mattie Miller                               Sis. Beverly Moreland
Sis. Lillie Dyar                                   Sis. Stella Darden
Sis. Betty Foreman                            Sis. Dorothy Williams
Sis. Lolethia Moreland                         Bro. Dexter Reynolds
Bro. Timothy Glenn                             Bro. Perry Cooley
Bro. Joshua White                              Bro. Darius White

Sis. Britney Wynn                               Sis. Chelsea Wynn

Bro. Alvin Allen
The Board of Trustees

The purpose of the Board of Trustees is to ensure that a vision for the Church is in place and that the operations of the Church properly support the vision.  Thus, the Board is charged with leadership of the strategic planning, financial management, business administration, facilities, media, legal and personnel functions that help under gird the church’s overall ministry.   The Zion Hill First Baptist Church Trustee Board was established in 1982:

Deacon George Wood, Chairman           Deacon Jimmy Dyar
Deacon Billy Williams                          Deacon Claude Hosey
Bro. Emory Ramey                             Sis. Cynthia Glenn
Sis. Gail Sherfield
The Combined Choir Ministry

"Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord."

Colossians 3:16 

The Zion Hill Combined Choir originated as the Zion Hill Choraleers in 1973; today the ministry continues to strive to praise the Lord in spirit and song.  

music notes coloring page
The Bus Ministry
The Bus Ministry
The Bus Ministry

“If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth:  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another,  and the blood of Jesus Christ, his Son cleanseth us from all sin” John 1:6-7
The Bus Ministry serves the Lord by transporting members and visitors to our sanctuary.

Call us at 770 684-8813